Why Nudity Is So Common In Horror

therootofall

I’ve been spending a bit of time catching up with some horror films I haven’t seen as yet and one thing that I found to be a common factor in many cases was the occasionally random use of nudity or sex scenes amidst the blood and gore; at first this seemed like a trivial occurrence but then I realised how well utilised it was in terms of creating a scarier setting.

Of course this isn’t a new idea, nudity is prevalent throughout the history of horror films from roughly the 80’s on (more commonly than previously), and while I spent years taking it for granted that the film-maker was using some t&a to give all those viewers a bit of eye candy before assaulting them with violent escapades I have come to believe that when used appropriately it can give a horror film a lot more depth.

Allow me to…

View original post 383 more words

Leave a Reply

