So you want to free your nipples…

breastsarehealthy

Assateague National Seashore, Berlin, Maryland. Spring 2015 Assateague National Seashore, Berlin, Maryland.
Spring 2015

I think it’s awesome that the Free the Nipple campaign has brought attention to gender equality and body image, but I do worry that images of demonstrators will create the association that every woman who appears bare-chested in public is an angry protester.  Not me!  I don’t go bare-chested because I feel angry.  I go bare-chested because I wish to feel light and happy and free.

I don’t begrudge the protesters at all.  Without them the message would be forgotten. Protesters have changed the laws to protect gender equality.  But in order for female bare-chestedness to be accepted socially as opposed to legally, which is a far more subtle and difficult challenge, bare breasts must stop being the focus of attention.  Waving signs that basically say, “Don’t look at my breasts!” can confuse observers.

I have instead chosen to simply appear bare-chested in…

View original post 238 more words

Leave a Reply

